How -- and Why -- to Choose a Reception Dress


Plan Your Entrance
Your bridesmaids can help you get out of your wedding dress and into your more comfortable reception dress in a hurry.
Your bridesmaids can help you get out of your wedding dress and into your more comfortable reception dress in a hurry.
Hemera/Thinkstock

Timing your wardrobe change correctly can be crucial. The time you choose to change clothes will have an impact on how your wedding photos will look for posterity. You may want to have both dresses featured but have the wedding dress figure prominently during some classic reception moments. You can choreograph this in advance and schedule your change accordingly. The actual wardrobe switch doesn't have to take more than 10 minutes with the help of your maid of honor and a full length mirror.

Once the pressure's off and you can relax and enjoy the reception, it's nice to have a more comfortable dress to dance and mingle in. If you plan on encouraging a stylish but less formal approach to the proceedings, a reception dress may be just the touch you need to put your individual stamp on the day's festivities and give everyone a tantalizing peek at the new, married you.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Blog Catalog. "Wedding Trend - Reception Dress." 4/27/10. 7/14/10.http://www.blogcatalog.com/search/frame?term=wedding+reception+dress&id=0378dfd8691bf5d896f14e5021594165
  • David's Bridal. "Reception Gowns." Undated. 7/15/10.http://www.davidsbridal.com/Browse_Bridal-Gowns-Features-Reception-Gowns
  • Ehow. "How to Pick a Separate Reception Dress For After Your Wedding." 1999. 7/15/10.http://www.ehow.com/how_5324177_pick-reception-dress-after-wedding.html
  • Neal, C. J. "Changing Bridal Dress for the Reception." Associated Content. 12/7/09. 7/14/10.http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/2454938/changing_bridal_dress_for_the_reception.html
  • Romantic Gowns. "Celebrity Wedding Trends." Undated. 7/14/10http://www.romanticgowns.com/collection/celebrity-trends
  • Smart Money. "8 Ways to Reduce the Average Cost of a Wedding." 6/11/08. 7/14/10.http://www.smartmoney.com/personal-finance/marriage-divorce/theyll-never-know-eight-hidden-ways-to-cut-wedding-costs-13918/#ixzz0tsADbk88
  • TJ Formal. "Brides' Reception Dresses." Undated. 7/15/10.http://www.tjformal.com/51162/Brides-Reception-Dresses.html
  • Wedding Bee. "Changing Into a Different Dress for the Reception?" Undated. 7/15/10.http://boards.weddingbee.com/topic/changing-into-a-different-dress-for-the-reception
  • Wedding Dresses. "Bride Changing Clothes for the Reception." Undated. 7/14/10.http://weddingdresses.weddingcakesfaq.com/wedding-dress/bride-changing-clothes-for-reception-664698.html
  • Wedding Wire. "Changing dresses for the reception -- is this normal / expected?." 3/30/09. 7/15/10.http://www.weddingwire.com/wedding-advice/changing-dresses-for-the-reception-is-this-normal-expected/28ae0352d0969df3.html
  • White Lace Wedding. "Reception Dresses." 3/12/07. 7/15/10.http://www.whitelacewedding.com/50226711/reception_dresses.php
  • Yahoo Answers. "The Problem With Reception Dresses." Undated. 7/14/10.http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20081001095544AANbDO4

More to Explore