Modern Looks: 5 Ways to Adapt the Hipster Style


1
Get the Accessories Right

Hipster style employs distinctive accessories. Your look won't be complete without adding a few of them. Here are some suggestions:

  • quirky hats (floppy hats or Fedoras work beautifully)
  • brightly colored belts
  • chunky or hippie jewelry
  • boots
  • Converse shoes or unusual sneakers
  • ballet flats
  • wrist cuffs
  • messenger bags (or other leather or canvas options)
  • leather jacket (creased, worn or torn is great)
  • patterned leggings

Related Articles

Sources

  • Barna, Daniel. "Montreal: Top Ten Hipster Hangouts." 8/19/09. (5/23/12). http://www.blackbookmag.com/nightlife/montreal-top-ten-hipster-hangouts-1.31655
  • Celebutaunt. "Hipster Fashion Takes Center Stage at Coachella 2012." 4/19/12. (5/23/12). http://usdish.com/celebutaunt/hipster-fashion-takes-center-stage-at-coachella-2012
  • Empowered Traditionalist. "How to Be Hipster: Portland Style." 1/21/12. (5/23/12). http://www.empoweredtraditionalist.com/2012/01/21/how-to-be-hipster-portland-style/
  • Eugenios Jillian. "Thick-framed 'hipster' eyewear new trend for defendants on trial." MSNBC. 3/30/12. (5/23/12). http://thelook.today.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/03/30/10939773-thick-framed-hipster-eyewear-new-trend-for-defendants-on-trial?lite
  • Fletcher, Dan. "Hipsters." Time Magazine. 7/29/09. (5/23/12). http://www.time.com/time/arts/article/0,8599,1913220,00.html
  • Haddow, Douglas. "Hipster: The Dead End of Western Civilization." Adbusters. 7/29/08. (5/23/12). http://www.adbusters.org/magazine/79/hipster.html
  • Johnson, Joel. "Geeks Versus Hipsters." Gizmodo. 10/4/10. (5/23/12). http://gizmodo.com/5653143/geeks-versus-hipsters
  • Leitch, Luke. "Paris Fashion Week: Kenzo Spring/Summer 2012." 10/2/11. (5/23/12). http://fashion.telegraph.co.uk/Article/TMG8802714/620/Paris-Fashion-Week-Kenzo-springsummer-2012.html
  • Locker, Melissa. "Apparently, Hipsters Are Taking Hints From the Amish Now." Time News Feed. 1/11/12. (5/23/12). http://newsfeed.time.com/2012/01/11/apparently-hipsters-are-taking-hints-from-the-amish-now/
  • Monster Guide. "How to Dress in Hipster Style." (5/23/12). http://monsterguide.net/how-to-dress-in-hipster-style
  • The Busy Nothings. "A Fine Dime: Hipster Style." 1/27/12. (5/23/12). http://www.thebusynothings.com/2012/01/27/a-fine-dime-hipster-style-guest-post/
  • Urban Dictionary. "Hipster." (5/23/12). http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=hipster&defid=2705928
  • Young, Meghan. "Feminine Hipster Fashion." Trend Hunter Fashion. 3/9/12. (5/23/12). http://www.trendhunter.com/trends/afia-ss12-lookbook

UP NEXT

How Shapewear Works

How Shapewear Works

Squeezing into a tight pair of Spanx can make you look better, if not feel better. Learn about shapewear by reading this article at HowStuffWorks.


More to Explore