Top 10 Famous and Fabulous Sister Acts


1
Venus and Serena Williams

Tennis greats Venus and Serena Williams are a walking testament to the power of sisterhood. They often compete against each another on the court but manage to stay close despite efforts by the media to portray their friendly rivalry as something more. It's a pleasure watching anyone play a sport with the kind of intensity, style and power these two display season after season.

Venus, the oldest sister, is currently ranked third in the world. She is an Olympic gold medalist who turned pro when she was 14. As of this writing, her sister Serena has won a total of 23 career Grand Slams. Watching these ladies play is an inspiration. Is it any wonder that they're No. 1 on our list of fabulous sister acts?

Related Articles

Sources

  • CBS News. "Sister Act Pictures." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.cbsnews.com/2300-207_162-2588026.html
  • Friar, Cathryn. "Malia Obama." 1/24/09. (2/27/11).http://www.rightpundits.com/?p=2731
  • Goldman, Lea and Kiri Blakeley. "The Richest 20 Women In Entertainment." 1/18/07. (2/27/11).http://www.forbes.com/2007/01/17/richest-women-entertainment-tech-media-cz_lg_richwomen07_0118womenstars_slide_12.html
  • IMDB. "Dakota Fanning." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0266824/bio
  • IMDB. "Elle Fanning." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1102577/
  • IMDB. "Hilary Duff - Bio." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0240381/bio
  • IMDB. "Jessica Simpson." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0005433/
  • IMDB. "Untitled Liz Meriwether/Fox Project." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1826940/
  • Info Please. "Sasha Obama." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.infoplease.com/biography/var/sashaobama.html
  • Itzkoff, Dave. "Lynn Redgrave, 67, Is Dead." 5/3/10. (2/27/11).http://artsbeat.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/05/03/lynn-redgrave-67-is-dead/
  • Moss, Corey. "Jessica Simpson Solves Age-Old Mystery: Chicken Of The Sea Is Tuna."10/21/03. (2/27/11).http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1479860/simpson-solves-tuna-mystery.jhtml
  • Music World Net. "Beyonce." Undated. (2/27/11).http://musicworldent.com/artists/beyonce
  • Music World Net. "Solange Knowles." Undated. (2/27/11).http://musicworldent.com/artists/solangeknowles
  • O'Neil, Tom. "Lynn Redgrave was robbed of the Oscar for 'Georgy Girl.'" L. A. Times. 5/3/10. (2/27/11).http://goldderby.latimes.com/awards_goldderby/2010/05/lynn-redgrave-die-breast-cancer-georgy-girl-news.html
  • Posh 24. "Double Impact - Famous Sisters." 1/6/09. (2/27/11).http://www.posh24.com/beyonce/double_impact_famous_sisters
  • Serena Williams. "Biography." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.serenawilliams.com/bio.php
  • Star Pulse. "Spotlight On Celebrity Sisters." 7/29/08. (2/27/11).http://www.starpulse.com/news/index.php/2008/07/29/spotlight_on_celebrity_sisters
  • Tapper, Jake. "Facebook Off-Limits to Malia and Sasha Obama." ABC News. 2/9/11. (2/27/11).http://blogs.abcnews.com/politicalpunch/2011/02/facebook-off-limits-to-malia-and-sasha-obama-.html
  • The White House. "First Lady Michelle Obama." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/first-lady-michelle-obama
  • Things You Don't Need to Know. "Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen are not identical twins…." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.thingsyoudontneedtoknow.com/olsenfacts.html
  • Venus Williams. "Biography." Undated. (2/27/11).http://www.venuswilliams.com/about.php

UP NEXT

How Free-Range Parenting Works

How Free-Range Parenting Works

HowStuffWorks learns about the free-range parenting philosophy and talks to the movement's founder Lenore Skenazy.


More to Explore