10 Fun Kids' Birthday Party Themes


1
Hobby Crazy
No matter what the theme is, the goal should always be fun.
No matter what the theme is, the goal should always be fun.
©iStockphoto.com/slobo

Your child's latest hobby or passion can become a creative theme for his birthday party this year. Your son's fascination with snakes could make a fun and timely theme. Ask your child why he loves his hobby so much. His enthusiasm will give you some insights and lots of great ideas. In the age of easy to use printers that can transfer graphics to banners, fabric and even cake icing, you probably have all the tools you need to craft most of the decorations you'll need. For the rest, specialty retailers like pet stores and sports memorabilia outlets cater to niche markets, so you're bound to find something inspired if you give yourself enough time to plan and browse.

It might take a little more effort than buying a boxed party pack, but clipart, posters, personalized napkins, and rubber or plush toys can help make your child's unique theme into something pretty special. Who knows, the year your son's birthday included a rubber snake hunt may become the stuff of legends at your house, recounted with glee every year at the family reunion or around the Thanksgiving holiday feast.

Related Articles

Sources

  • Amazing Moms. "The Big List of Birthday Party Ideas." Undated. 12/23/10.http://www.amazingmoms.com/htm/party_bigbirthdaylist.htm
  • Birthday Party Ideas 4 Kids. "Birthday Party Themes." Undated 12/23/10.http://www.birthdaypartyideas4kids.com/
  • Birthday Party Ideas. "American Idol." Undated. 12/23/10.http://www.birthdaypartyideas.com/html/american_idol_party.html
  • Coolest Kid Birthday Parties. "Top 10 Most Popular Kid Birthday Party Themes." Undated. 12/23/10.http://www.coolest-kid-birthday-parties.com/
  • Davidson, Alan. "The Oxford Companion to Food." University Press. 1999.
  • Food Timeline. "Cake." Undated. 12/24/10.http://www.foodtimeline.org/foodcakes.html#birthdaycake
  • Kaboose. "Birthday Party Crafts." Undated. 12/14/10.http://party.kaboose.com/party-favors/index.html?source=partylnv&kw=craftsLN
  • Kaboose. "Sleepover Party Tips." Undated. 12/24/10.http://party.kaboose.com/your-sleepover-party-planner.html
  • Kids Foods. "Fun Foods and Party Kits." Undated. 12/24/10.http://www.kidsfoods.com/
  • Kids Party Fun. "Party Themes." Undated. 12/23/10.http://www.kidspartyfun.com/pages/themesmain.html
  • Marchione, Marilynn. "U.S. Birth Rate At Record Low, Experts Blame Recession." Huffington Post. 8/27/10. 12/24/10.http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/08/27/us-birth-rate-at-record-l_n_696935.html
  • Martha Stewart. "Kids' Birthday Parties." Undated. 12/23/110.http://www.marthastewart.com/photogallery/themed-indoor-birthday-parties
  • Party Pop. "Party Themes." Undated. 12/23/10.http://www.partypop.com/Themes/
  • Passion for Parties. "Do You Want To Set Your Party Apart From The Rest?" Undated. 12/23/10.http://www.passion-for-parties.com/birthday-invitations.html
  • USPS. "Measuring Tips." Undated. 12/24/10.http://www.usps.com/send/preparemailandpackages/measuringtips.htm

UP NEXT

How to Host a Trivia Night

How to Host a Trivia Night

Hosting a trivia night can spice up a slow bar night or be a great fundraiser. Learn how to host a trivia night to get started.


More to Explore